logo Donnerstag, 23.01.2014
The artists

Open call for artists for the NordArt 2019

NordArt 2019: 1 June – 6 October 2019

Deadline for applications: 30 November 2018




Kunstwerk Carlshütte is a non-profit cultural initiative that has been organizing the annual NordArt exhibition featuring about 200 selected artists from all over the world since 1999. As an internationally established forum for cultural education and exchange, NordArt has dedicated itself to the task of enhancing mutual understanding through the language of art. Year after year, the exhibition designed by chief curator Wolfgang Gramm has redefined itself, always setting new priorities. NordArt ranks among the largest exhibitions of contemporary art in Europe. The vast halls of the historic iron foundry serve as its stage, with their 22,000 square meters of floor space and the adjacent 80,000 square meters large sculpture park. The art works, in interaction with the industrial architecture's impressive scenery, develop their own unique atmosphere, taking visitors on an incomparable world trip through art.
Each year NordArt focusses on a country with its own pavilion and cooperates with embassies, cultural institutions and curators from different countries. Specifically appointed artists and special projects have become another permanent fixture within NordArt.

For an impression of the exhibition site visit the virtual tour.

Application for Participation:
The deadline for applications is 30 November 2018
The application for participation in the NordArt is preferably online.
Alternatively, applications can be submitted by post or by e-mail.
There are no registration fees.

Online application
1. Fill out text fields with personal data and upload artist resume (Word or PDF file, max 1MB).
2. Additional material (optional): texts, articles, reviews (Word or PDF file, max 1MB).
3. Select field (painting, sculpture, installation, photo, etc.). Multiple selection possible.
If you are also applying for the NordArt symposium in May, please select „yes“ and upload the description of the project (Word or PDF file, max 1MB). Find below information about the NordArt symposium.
4. Upload images of artworks, which could be shown at NordArt: up to 10 files (1 MB max single file, formats: JPG, GIF, PNG, PDF), fill text fields with information. Field „web link“: link for video work or image file.

The recording of data through this form takes place at the explicit request of the artist and serves the exclusive purpose of establishing contact between the artist and NordArt. The European Union's General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) applies to all further processing of the data.

After the „submit“ a confirmation of entry and information is sent to your email address automatically.

Alternative: application documents by post or by email:
1. Application form (.docx)
2. Artist resume (curriculum vitae) and additional material (optional)
3. Photos of approx. 10 art works which could be shown at NordArt. Please label all photos with the title, year of origin, technique, and size. Optional documents: own catalogues. Exhibits for NordArt can be marked in the catalogue. Please do not send any originals. The return of application documents is not possible.
Please send the documents by 30 November 2018 at the latest (postmark).
Postal Address: Kunstwerk Carlshütte, NordArt office, Am Ahlmannkai, 24782 Büdelsdorf, Germany

Email: application@kunstwerk-carlshuette.de

Selection of artists:
Selection of artists takes place by the end of February 2019 by a jury. The jury is made up of curators, artists, an art historian, and the supervisory board and management. A list of the invited artists will be published online on our website by the beginning of March 2019. Additionally, all invited artists will be informed by email or post and asked to confirm their participation and send the documents for the catalogue. Thank you for understanding that those artists not invited to NordArt 2019 will not be receiving notification.

Delivery of the art works and other information:
The art works selected by the jury must be delivered to the following address:
Kunstwerk Carlshütte, NordArt, Vorwerksallee 3, 24782 Büdelsdorf, Germany, until 17th April 2019.
Artists are responsible for transportation of their art works, including international freight, to and from the exhibition site. The logos of the official supporters of the artists will be published in the catalogue, on the exhibition boards and on the NordArt website.
All delivered art works will be insured subject to the general insurance conditions from the time of delivery to the time of collection (by the end of October 2019).
Installation of art works is carried out by the NordArt team (or, in exceptional cases only, by the artist).
The exhibited works may be offered for sale. We will pass potential buyers' details on to the artist. Kunstwerk Carlshütte is a non-profit organization and does not charge any commission. The exhibited works remain at NordArt until the end of the exhibition.

NordArt catalogue:
A German/English catalogue in DIN A4 format (29,7 cm x 21 cm), is produced for the exhibition with one page per artist. Digital photos and text regarding each participant is requested along with the jury’s invitation and must be supplied by email within 10 days. Please refer to the following link for examples: www.nordart.de/die-kuenstler.html All participating artists receive a free copy of the catalogue.

Opening ceremony and general opening times:
Official pre-opening with invited guests: Friday, 31 May 2019
Public Opening Ceremony: Saturday, 1 June 2019
Opening times till Sunday, 6 October 2019: Tuesday to Sunday 11 am – 7 pm

NordArt Prize:
The NordArt Prize worth 10.000 euro has been sponsored by Hans-Julius and Johanna Ahlmann (ACO Group) since 2010. Each year one artist is awarded with the aim to support the art and culture scene. The awardee will be announced during "The Long Night of the Lights" in September and may automatically participate in NordArt the following year, at the opening of which the award ceremony will take place.

Public Choice Award:
Visitors to NordArt can vote for their favourite artist. Three Public Choice Awards will be awarded during "The Long Night of the Lights" in September. All votes will be counted in the week before the announcement. The three winning artists will be informed and invited to the prize giving ceremony. Each award is worth 1.000 euro. The three winners are invited to participate again in NordArt the following year.

NordArt symposium:
Each year the exhibition is preceded by the international NordArt symposium. Approximately 10 artists are invited to attend the symposium and create large works (sculpture, installation, painting) for the current NordArt. The participants of the symposium are provided with materials (by arrangement), a workplace, accommodation and travel cost support. The work created remains the property of the artist and will be exhibited at NordArt (by agreement also longer than 1 year). If you wish to attend the symposium, please mark the "symposium" box in the application form. For this application, we require a project description with details on the materials and dimensions, estimated time required, photos with examples of works.

logo Donnerstag, 23.01.2014
Die Künstler

Bewerbung zur NordArt 2019

NordArt 2019: 1. Juni–06. Oktober 2019

Bewerbungsfrist: 30. November 2018




Das Kunstwerk Carlshütte ist eine Non-Profit-Kulturinitiative und organisiert die seit 1999 jährlich stattfindende NordArt mit 200 ausgewählten Künstlern aus aller Welt. Als international etabliertes Forum für kulturelle Bildung und Austausch hat sich die NordArt der Aufgabe verschrieben, das gegenseitige Verstehen durch die Sprache der Kunst zu fördern. Die NordArt gehört zu den größten Ausstellungen zeitgenössischer Kunst in Europa. Jahr für Jahr definiert sich die von Chefkurator Wolfgang Gramm konzipierte Ausstellung neu und setzt andere Schwerpunkte. Ihre Bühne sind die gewaltigen Hallenschiffe der historischen Eisengießerei mit ihren 22.000 Quadratmetern Grundfläche und ein 80.000 Quadratmeter großer Skulpturenpark. Im Zusammenspiel mit der imposanten Kulisse entwickeln die Exponate eine ganz eigene Atmosphäre und führen die Besucher auf eine unvergleichliche Weltreise durch die Kunst.
Jährlich stellt die NordArt je ein Land mit einem eigenen Pavillon in den Fokus und kooperiert mit Botschaften, Kulturinstitutionen und Kuratoren aus unterschiedlichen Ländern. Gezielt werden Künstler auch berufen und Sonderprojekte im Rahmen der NordArt realisiert.

Einen Eindruck des Ausstellungsgeländes gibt die virtuelle Tour auf unserer Homepage wider.

Bewerbung zur Teilnahme:
Die Bewerbungsfrist endet am 30. November 2018
Die Bewerbung um Teilnahme an der NordArt erfolgt bevorzugt online.
Alternativ können Bewerbungen auch per Post oder per E-Mail eingereicht werden.
Keine Teilnahmegebühren

Online-Bewerbung in 3 Schritten:
1. Textfelder mit persönlichen Daten ausfüllen und Künstler-CV hochladen (Word- oder PDF-Datei, max 1MB)
2. Zusatzinformationen (optional): Texte, Artikel, Rezensionen (Word- oder PDF-Datei, max 1MB)
3. Bereich (Malerei, Bildhauerei, Installation, Foto usw.) auswählen. Mehrfachnennung möglich. Falls Sie Arbeiten im Rahmen der NordArt-Symposium im Mai realisieren möchten, bitte „ja“ auswählen und Ihre Projektbeschreibung hochladen (Word- oder PDF-Datei, max 1MB).
Informationen zum NordArt-Symposium finden Sie weiter unten.
4. Abbildungen Ihrer Arbeiten, die in der NordArt gezeigt werden könnten.
Maximal 10 Bilddateien hochladen (Einzeldatei max. 1 MB, Formate: JPG, GIF, PNG, PDF), Textfelder mit Bildinformationen ausfüllen. Feld „web-link“: Link für Videoarbeiten oder Bilddateien

Die Aufnahme der Daten in diesem Formular erfolgt auf ausdrücklichen Wunsch den/die Künstler/in und dient ausschließlich dem Zweck der Kontaktaufnahme zwischen Künstler und der NordArt.
Für die Weiterverarbeitung dieser Daten gilt die EU-DSGVO.

Nach dem „Absenden“ wird automatisch eine Eingangsbestätigung an Ihre E-Mail-Adresse geschickt.

Alternativ: Bewerbung per E-Mail oder per Post:
1. Anmeldebogen (docx)
2. Künstlervita und Zusatzinformationen (optional)
3. Abbildungen von max. 10 Arbeiten, die in der NordArt gezeigt werden könnten. Bitte alle Abbildungen mit Titel, Entstehungsjahr, Technik und Größe bezeichnen. Optional: eigene Kataloge. Arbeiten für die NordArt können auch im Katalog markiert werden. Bitte keine Originalwerke einsenden.
Eine Rücksendung oder persönliche Abholung von Bewerbungsunterlagen ist leider nicht möglich.
Wir bitten, die Unterlagen bis zum 30. November 2018 (Poststempel) einzusenden.
Postadresse: NordArt-Büro, Am Ahlmannkai, 24782 Büdelsdorf, Deutschland.
Per E-Mail: application@kunstwerk-carlshuette.de

Auswahl der Künstler(innen):
Die Auswahl der Künstler(innen) findet bis Ende Februar 2019 durch eine Jury statt. Die NordArt-Jury setzt sich zusammen aus KuratorInnen, KünstlerInnen, einem/einer KunsthistorikerIn, Aufsichtsrat und Geschäftsführung.
Eine Liste der ausgewählten KünstlerInnen wird bis Anfang März 2019 auf der Webseite veröffentlicht. Alle eingeladenen KünstlerInnen werden schriftlich (per E-Mail oder per Post) benachrichtigt und um die Teilnahmebestätigung sowie Unterlagen für den Katalog gebeten. Die KünstlerInnen, die nicht für die NordArt 2019 eingeladen werden konnten, werden nicht gesondert informiert.

Anlieferung und Sonstiges:
Von der Jury ausgewählte Arbeiten sollen bis zum 17. April 2019 bei der NordArt angeliefert werden. Ausstellungsadresse: Kunstwerk Carlshütte, Vorwerksallee 3, 24782 Büdelsdorf, Deutschland.
Aufgrund unserer begrenzten Budgets sind die KünstlerInnen selbst verantwortlich für den An- und Abtransport ihrer Kunstwerke. Die Logos der offiziellen Unterstützer von Künstlern werden im Katalog, auf den Ausstellungstafeln und auf der Webseite der NordArt veröffentlicht.
Alle angelieferten Kunstwerke sind für den Zeitraum nach der Anlieferung bis zur Abholung (bis Ende Oktober 2019) gemäß den „Allgemeinen Versicherungsbedingungen“ versichert.
Aufbau der Kunstwerke wird durch das NordArt-Team vorgenommen (nur wenn erforderlich, durch den/die KünstlerIn).

Die ausgestellten Werke können zum Verkauf angeboten werden. Wir vermitteln die verbindlichen Kaufinteressenten an die Künstler weiter. Als Non-Profit-Organisation nimmt das Kunstwerk Carlshütte keine Provision. Die ausgestellten Werke verbleiben bis zum Ausstellungsende bei der NordArt.

NordArt-Katalog:
Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein deutsch-englischsprachiger Katalog in Din-A4-Format – eine Seite pro Künstler. Die digitalen Fotos und Texte der teilnehmenden KünstlerInnen werden mit der Einladung zur Teilnahme angefordert und müssen innerhalb von 10 Tagen per E-Mail eingereicht werden. Als Vorlage können die Katalogseiten des Vorjahres unter folgendem Link angesehen werden: www.nordart.de/die-kuenstler.html Alle teilnehmenden Künstler erhalten ein Freiexemplar des Kataloges.

Eröffnung und Öffnungszeiten:
Pre-Opening mit geladenen Gästen: Freitag, 31. Mai 2019
Öffentliche Eröffnung: Samstag, 1. Juni 2019
Öffnungszeiten: bis 7. Oktober 2019, Dienstag–Sonntag 11–19 Uhr

NordArt-Preis:
Der mit 10.000 Euro dotierte NordArt-Preis wird seit 2010 von Hans-Julius und Johanna Ahlmann (ACO Gruppe) gestiftet. Jährlich wird ein Künstler ausgezeichnet mit dem Ziel, die Kunst- und Kulturszene zu beleben. Der Preisträger wird Mitte September im Rahmen der "Langen Nacht der Lichter" bekannt gegeben und ist zur erneuten Teilnahme an der NordArt eingeladen. Die Preisverleihung findet bei der NordArt Eröffnung im Folgejahr statt.

Publikumspreis:
Die Besucher der NordArt haben die Möglichkeit, für ihren Lieblingskünstler ihre Stimme abzugeben. Der Publikumspreis wird im September im Rahmen der "Langen Nacht der Lichter" verliehen. Die Auswertung der Stimmen findet eine Woche vor der Preisbekanntgabe statt, die drei Publikumsfavoriten werden benachrichtigt und zur Preisverleihung eingeladen. Die drei Publikumspreise sind mit je 1.000 Euro dotiert und mit der Einladung zur Teilnahme an der NordArt im Folgejahr verbunden.

NordArt-Symposium:
Im Vorfeld der jährlichen Ausstellung findet jedes Jahr im Mai das internationale NordArt-Symposium statt.
Zu dem Symposium werden circa 10 KünstlerInnen eingeladen, die vor Ort großformatige Werke (Skulptur, Installation, Malerei) für die aktuelle NordArt herstellen. Für die TeilnehmerInnen bieten wir Materialien (nach Absprache), Arbeitsplatz, Unterkunft und Reisekostenunterstützung. Die entstandenen Arbeiten bleiben Eigentum des/der Künstlers/Künstlerin und werden auf der NordArt ausgestellt (nach Absprache auch länger als 1 Jahr). Bei Teilnahmewunsch bitte auf dem Bewerbungsbogen "Symposium" ankreuzen. Zudem benötigen wir eine Projektbeschreibung, Angaben über Material und Maße, geschätzten Zeitaufwand sowie Fotos mit Arbeitsbeispielen.